RUSSIAN CABINET (RUSSKIY MIR CABINET)

The activity of the Cabinet aims at promotion of the Russian language and culture, support of the study programs, development of cultural and humanitarian cooperation between Papua New Guinea and the Russian Federation, ensuring access for everyone interested to the Russian language study online resources implemented in Papua New Guinea by the Miklouho-Maclay Foundation and the Russkiy Mir Foundation.

The Russian Corner is located at the National Library of Papua New Guinea (Independence Drive, Waigani, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea)

OBJECTIVES:

  Promotion of Russian culture and Russian language, which is spoken by over 300 million people.
  Informational support for Russians in Papua New Guinea as well as citizens of Papua New Guinea interested in Russia.

Welcome!

Russkiy Mir Cabinet is opened at the National Library and Archives of Papua New Guinea!

Unique Materials.

Here you will find books, media about Russia and textbooks of the Russian language.

Culture and Traditions.

Here you will be able to touch the diversity of the unique Russian culture.

Events.

Regular exhibitions, lectures and video screenings are waiting for you.

Russian Language.

We hold Russian language lessons for everyone on regular basis.

We are looking forward to seeing you!

Here you can engage in creativity.

Historical ties between Russia and Papua New Guinea

Russia and Papua New Guinea have historical ties for almost 150 years. On 20 September 1871 great Russian scientist-humanist and traveler Nikolay Miklouho-Maclay became the first European, who landed on the Northeastern part of New Guinea Island. Russian scientist lived for 2.5 years with the inhabitants of Gorendu, Bongu and Gumbu villages. With his patience, kindness, responsiveness, and courage, N. Miklouho-Maclay successfully earned the trust and love of the villagers. He became the first person who ‘opened’ to the outside world the inhabitants of the Northeastern part of New Guinea Island, and the place of his stay was called the ‘Maclay Coast’.

Great Russian scientist’s diaries about the journeys to New Guinea were published in millions of copies, due to the millions of Russians know about the peoples, traditions, and culture New Guinea inhabitants.
The traditions of scientific research of New Guinea, established by N.N. Miklouho-Maclay in the second half of the 19th and early 20th-century were supported by new generations of Russian scientists. In 1971 and 1977 the Maclay Coast was visited by two Soviet research expeditions under the leadership of Daniil Tumarkin, an outstanding Russian ethnographer, a member of the Institute of Ethnography of the USSR Academy of Sciences named after N. N. Miklouho- Maclay, with a group of scientists from Moscow and Leningrad.
Formal diplomatic relations between the USSR and the Independent State of Papua New Guinea established on 19 May 1976.
In November 1988, the Government of Papua New Guinea agreed to the establishment of the Soviet Embassy in Port Moresby, which was officially opened in March 1990, but in August 1992 it was closed due to cost optimization and relocated to Jakarta, Indonesia.
Since 1992, Russia is represented in Papua New Guinea by the Russian Ambassador to Indonesia.

Российский кабинет (Кабинет Русского мира)

Деятельность Российского кабинета (Кабинета Русского мира) направлена на популяризацию русского языка и культуры, поддержку образовательных программ, развитие культурно-гуманитарного сотрудничества между Независимым Государством Папуа-Новая Гвинея и Российской Федерацией, обеспечение доступа всех желающих к изучению русского языка  посредством интернет-ресурсов.

Реализуется Фондом им. Миклухо-Маклая и Фондом «Русский мир» в Папуа-Новой Гвинее.

Цели:

  Популяризация российской культуры и русского языка, на котором говорят более 300 миллионов человек;
  Информационная поддержка россиян в Папуа-Новой Гвинее, а также граждан Папуа-Новой Гвинеи, заинтересованных узнать больше о России.

Добро пожаловать!

Кабинет Русского мира открыт в Национальной библиотеке Папуа-Новой Гвинеи!

Уникальные материалы.

У нас вы найдете книги и медиа-материалы, повествующие о России, а также учебники русского языка.

Культура и традиции России.

У нас вы сможете прикоснуться к многообразию уникальной российской культуры.

Регулярные мероприятия.

Вас ждут регулярные выставки, экскурсии, лекции и видео-показы.

Уроки русского языка.

У нас на регулярной проводятся уроки русского языка для всех желающих.

Мы вас ждем!

Здесь сможете заниматься творчеством.

История связей России и Папуа-Новой Гвинеи

Россия и Папуа-Новая Гвинея имеют исторические связи почти 150 лет. 20 сентября 1871 года великий русский ученый-гуманист и путешественник Николай Миклухо-Маклай стал первым европейцем, который высадился на побережье северо- востока острова Новая Гвинея. Русский ученый прожил около 2.5 лет с жителями деревень Горенду, Бонгу и Гумбу. Своим терпением, доброжелательностью, отзывчивостью и отвагой Н. Н. Миклухо-Маклай завоевал доверие и любовь местных жителей. Фактически, именно он «открыл» внешнему миру жителей северо-восточного побережья Новой Гвинеи, а место его пребывания было названо Берегом Маклая. Всего же русский исследователь более 15 лет изучал регион Юго-Восточной Азии, из которых 4 года прожил на острове Новая Гвинея.

Дневники великого русского ученого о путешествии на Новую Гвинею были опубликованы многомилионными тиражами. Именно благодаря им миллионы россиян знают о народах, традициях и культуре народов, населяющих Новую Гвинею.
 Традиции научного исследования Новой Гвинеи, заложенные Н. Н. Миклухо- Маклаем во второй половине XIX-начале XX века, поддержали новые поколения отечественных ученых. В 1971 и 1977 гг. Берег Маклая посетили две советские научно-исследовательские экспедиции под руководством выдающегося российского этнографа, члена Института этнографии Академии Наук СССР им. Н. Н. Миклухо-Маклая Даниила Тумаркина с командой ученых из Москвы и Ленинграда.
Официальные дипломатические отношения между СССР и Независимым Государством Папуа-Новая Гвинея были установлены 19 мая 1976 г.
Официальные дипломатические отношения между СССР и Независимым Государством Папуа-Новая Гвинея были установлены 19 мая 1976 г.
В ноябре 1988 г. правительство Папуа-Новой Гвинеи дало согласие на учреждение в Порт-Морсби посольства СССР, которое было официально открыто в марте 1990 г, но в августе 1992 г. оно было закрыто в связи с оптимизацией расходов и переведено в г. Джакарта, Индонезия.
С 1992 г. Россию в Папуа–Новой Гвинее по совместительству представляет Посол России в Индонезии.
 В XXI веке российские традиции в исследованиях Папуа-Новой Гвинеи возродил Николай Миклухо-Маклай-младший, потомок выдающегося ученого, который провел научно-исследовательские экспедиции в 2017 и 2019 гг., совместно с учеными из России и Папуа-Новой Гвинеи, а также основал Фонд им. Миклухо-Маклая, который фактически стал мостом между Россией и Папуа-Новой Гвинеей в развитии отношений в культурной, гуманитарной и деловой сферах в XXI веке.